Skip to content

AirOps Vs Profound: Which AI Visibility Tool Fits Your Team?

AirOps builds content at volume, Profound measures AI visibility. Compare engines, plan limits, trials and which buyer should pick which.

Co-Founder & Head of SEO
Published
Updated
Reading time
17 min read
AirOps Vs Profound: Which AI Visibility Tool Fits Your Team?

Summarise this post with

Pick Profound if your job is measuring where your brand appears in AI answers. Pick AirOps if your job is producing content at volume and measurement is secondary. Neither vendor publishes paid prices, so the deciding evidence is what each plan lets you run. That means engines covered, prompts or tasks included, and trial terms.

That split holds for a B2B SaaS team that has already shortlisted both tools and needs one of them for AI search visibility this quarter. If you are still deciding whether you need a tool at all, the answer may be different.

Both vendors publish their own comparison pages, and neither documents how often its data refreshes. Confirm current limits in a trial on your own prompts before you sign.

If you would rather have a team run the tracking and act on what it shows, see how our AI Search Visibility service works. It is the quickest way to check whether you need a tool at all.

AirOps Vs Profound At A Glance

Here is the whole comparison in one table, built only from the two vendors' own pricing pages and sites. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the cell says so.

AttributeAirOpsProfound
Primary jobContent operations with AI visibility insightsAnswer engine monitoring with analytics and agent modules
Engines coveredChatGPT only on Solo, 10+ answer engines on Pro3 engines on the free trial, up to 9 on Enterprise
Prompt or task allowance35,000 content tasks on Solo, 100,000 on Pro, custom on Enterprise50 unique prompts a day on the trial, 400 credits a month per client workspace on Agency Growth
Free trialNot found on the pricing page7 days, free
Paid price publishedNot publishedNot published
SOC 2 and SSO listedNot found in the sources readListed on Enterprise
Support levelDedicated account manager on EnterpriseNo support on the trial, custom support with a 24-hour SLA on Enterprise
Refresh rate documentedNot publishedNot published

Every figure above comes from AirOps' pricing page or Profound's pricing page. The sections below explain each row and what it means for the choice.

Who Wrote The Comparisons You Are Reading

Read the top results for this keyword with one fact in mind. Both vendors wrote a comparison of the two products. AirOps published its own AirOps vs Profound page, and Profound published its own Profound vs AirOps page plus a second deep-dive. Two Profound-written pages hold positions 2 and 3 in the results read for this keyword.

That does not make them wrong. It does mean each verdict was written by a party with something to sell, and you should weigh the claims each page makes about the rival with that in mind. A vendor describing its own product is a useful source. A vendor describing a competitor's weaknesses is an argument.

This page works differently. Facts come from the vendors' own pricing pages and sites, and each is linked where it appears. Judgement is labelled as judgement, and it rests on reasoning you can check. Claims that only one side makes about the other, and that no independent source confirms, are left out.

What AirOps And Profound Are Each Built To Do

The two products were built for different first jobs. Most teams have one of those jobs ahead of the other, and that ordering drives the decision more than any feature list does.

AirOps is a content operations platform that added AI visibility insights. Its plans are sized in content tasks, with brand kits and knowledge bases attached, and its Pro plan covers insights across 10+ answer engines. The AirOps homepage says it wants you to understand your brand's market share rather than only a visibility score. Treat that as the vendor describing its intent. AirOps' own comparison page routes the choice by whether a team's main job is execution at volume or measurement and reporting, and it places itself on the execution side.

Profound is an answer engine monitoring platform. It lists six monitor modules named Answer Engine Insights, Prompt Volumes, Agent Analytics, Benchmarking, FactCheck and Sentiment. It also describes a Context Manager that maintains brand context in six areas and calls it real-time. Profound's own deep-dive describes AirOps as a content-automation platform that later added AI visibility features, and argues that Profound suits teams wanting demand data and closed-loop measurement in one place.

Put side by side, the two descriptions agree on the split. Each vendor says the same thing about where the other is strongest, and each says its own product is the better home for the part you care about. That agreement is the most reliable thing either page offers.

A team usually has one of these jobs first. If yours is publishing, AirOps is the natural starting point. If yours is knowing where you show up, Profound is. The wider market is bigger than these two, and our guide to category-level AI visibility tools shows where Profound sits among the measurement options.

Engine Coverage Depends On The Plan

Engine coverage is a plan question, not a product question. Quoting "AirOps covers 10+ engines" or "Profound covers nine" without the plan attached is how comparison pages mislead.

VendorPlanEngines covered
AirOpsSoloChatGPT only
AirOpsPro10+ answer engines
AirOpsEnterpriseNot stated on the pricing page
ProfoundFree trialChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews
ProfoundEnterpriseUp to 9 answer engines
ProfoundAgency GrowthNot stated on the pricing page

The figures come from AirOps' pricing page and Profound's pricing page. AirOps Solo covers ChatGPT insights only, and Pro jumps to 10+ engines. Profound's trial covers three engines, and its Enterprise plan reaches up to nine.

Two cautions follow. The vendors count and name engines differently, so "10+" and "nine" are not directly comparable until each lists the engines by name. And the trial of one tool is not a preview of the other tool's mid-tier plan. Ask each vendor for the engine list on the exact plan you would buy, in writing.

If your buyers research on ChatGPT and Perplexity, check those two first. Our breakdown of monitoring SaaS brand visibility in ChatGPT and Perplexity covers how to weigh engines against where your category is actually researched.

Content Production And Workflows

AirOps documents content capacity as tasks per plan. Solo includes 35,000 content tasks, Pro includes 100,000, and Enterprise sets custom task limits. Solo adds one brand kit and three knowledge bases for a single user. Pro and Enterprise come with unlimited seats. The pricing page also states a per-task overage rate of 0.025, without saying in which currency.

That is a real production number, and it is the clearest thing either vendor publishes about content capacity. What it does not tell you is quality. A task is a unit of work, not a measure of how good the output reads or whether it earns citations. Judge the workflows in a trial, on a content type you publish today, and have the person who edits your drafts score the output.

Profound documents itself as monitoring. Its modules are about measurement, not production. Profound's own deep-dive describes agent features, and any claim it makes about what AirOps cannot do is Profound's own argument. Neither page proves output quality for either product.

So for the question "can Profound replace AirOps for content creation", the documented answer is no. Profound lists no content task allowance, and a monitoring platform tells you what to fix without fixing it. If you need pages written and updated at volume, you need a production layer from somewhere, whether that is AirOps, another tool, or people.

Teams that want the production side handled for them can look at our SaaS content marketing programme. Teams that want a tool for refreshing existing pages should look at the AI tools for rewriting old blog posts before committing to a platform plan.

Measurement Depth: What Each Tool Documents

The measurement comparison is lopsided, and the asymmetry is in the documentation, not necessarily in the products.

Profound names its measurement features. Its site lists Answer Engine Insights, Prompt Volumes, Agent Analytics, Benchmarking, FactCheck and Sentiment as monitor modules, plus a Context Manager. You can read that list and know what you would be buying. Each name is a thing you can ask to see in a demo.

AirOps documents intent. Its homepage says to understand your brand's market share, not just its visibility score, and that its platform tracks every result, tied to pipeline and revenue. No metric behind either sentence is documented on the page. That could mean a lot of measurement sits behind a login. It could also mean the measurement is thinner than the wording. The page does not let you tell which.

Neither vendor documents how often its visibility data refreshes. AirOps' pricing page says nothing on refresh rate, and Profound's site does not either, apart from describing its Context Manager as real-time. Figures for refresh intervals that circulate in reviews are reviewer-reported or self-reported, so none is used here. Refresh rate matters because a weekly snapshot and a daily one answer different questions. Ask for it before you buy.

How should you judge any of these features? Start with the sources the tool shows you. Our guide to citation tracking tools compared lays out what a good citation view contains, which gives you a checklist for both demos.

Numbers on a dashboard only help if someone turns them into work. If you want the work behind the numbers, our Generative Engine Optimization service covers that side.

Pricing, Trials And Limits

Neither vendor publishes a paid price. That is the first thing to know, and most pricing sections you will find on the web paper over it.

VendorPlanWhat is includedPublished price
AirOpsSoloChatGPT insights, 35,000 content tasks, 1 brand kit, 3 knowledge bases, single userNot published
AirOpsPro10+ answer engines, 100,000 content tasks, unlimited seatsNot published
AirOpsEnterpriseCustom task limits, dedicated account manager, unlimited seatsCustom
ProfoundFree trial7 days, 50 unique prompts run daily, 3 engines, 1 language, 1 region, no supportFree
ProfoundAgency Growth400 credits per month per client workspaceNot published
ProfoundEnterpriseUp to 9 engines, daily prompt frequency, SSO/SAML, SOC 2, API access, exportCustom

Neither vendor publishes a paid price. AirOps' pricing page shows allowances for Solo, Pro and Enterprise and no dollar figure, and it does not state the billing basis. Profound's pricing page offers a free seven-day trial of 50 prompts a day and a custom Enterprise plan. Its FAQ gives Agency Growth 400 credits per month per client workspace, with no price attached.

Third-party pages do quote dollar figures. They disagree with each other and with the vendors, so none is used here. A number you cannot trace to a vendor page is a guess with a logo next to it.

You can still compare cost. Ask each vendor for a quote against the same three inputs.

  • Prompt count: The number of prompts you need tracked, per engine.
  • Engine list: The named engines you need, since the count differs by vendor.
  • Brands tracked: Your own brand plus every competitor you want in the report.

Put the three quotes side by side, and put the content task allowance next to AirOps' quote if you plan to use it for production. A tool that looks cheap at 50 prompts can look different at 500, and Profound's trial limit tells you the free tier is a test and not a working setup.

Security, Compliance And Support

Profound lists SOC 2 and SSO/SAML on its Enterprise plan, according to its pricing page. The same plan lists API access, CSV and JSON export, and custom support with a 24-hour SLA. The free trial includes no support at all. If a security review is on your path to purchase, those Enterprise items matter, and they sit behind a custom quote.

AirOps documents less on this front. Its pricing page lists a dedicated account manager on Enterprise. The sources read for this guide did not list AirOps security certifications, and they did not say whether AirOps offers a free trial. That is a gap in what was found, and it is not evidence that AirOps lacks certifications. Ask AirOps directly for its security documentation and trial terms before the procurement call.

For a regulated or enterprise buyer, put these questions in your first email to each vendor.

  • Certifications: Which security attestations do you hold today, and can you share the reports?
  • Access: Is SSO/SAML included on the plan I would buy?
  • Support: What is the response time for my plan, in writing?

Picking the tool is the easy part; turning its numbers into pages that get cited is the work that follows. The GEO + SEO Growth Programme covers that ongoing work, so read what it includes before you plan the budget.

Which Buyer Should Pick Which Tool

This is the decision rule. Three situations cover most teams. Each verdict names the tool and the plan fact behind it.

If your main job is publishing content at volume and AI visibility is a reporting layer, choose AirOps. AirOps sizes its plans in content tasks, with 35,000 on Solo and 100,000 on Pro, so capacity is the thing you are buying. AirOps' own comparison page draws the same line, routing teams with an execution-at-volume job to AirOps. One caveat applies. Solo covers ChatGPT only, so a team that needs wider engine coverage should price Pro.

If your main job is tracking brand visibility across many engines and you need compliance items, choose Profound. Its Enterprise plan lists up to nine engines, SOC 2 and SSO/SAML, and its measurement modules are named on its site. Independent reviewer Nick Lafferty reaches a similar rule, picking Profound when citation tracking, prompt-volume data, regional residency or SOC 2 matter, in his comparison, and AirOps when content volume outweighs citation optimisation. His page leans toward Profound, so read his rule as one reviewer's view and use the plan facts above as the check.

If you need both, decide which budget line comes first and trial that one. Do not buy two platforms to solve one problem. Content without measurement is guesswork, and measurement without anyone to act on it is a dashboard nobody opens. Pick the job that is blocking you today, run that tool for a full trial, and add the second only when the first has a backlog that justifies it.

Volume changes the rule. The more brands and prompts you must track, the more the plan limits decide for you. The only documented limits are Profound's 50-prompt trial and AirOps' plan allowances, so ask both vendors for the limit at your volume. If you track many competitors, our guide to competitor benchmarking in AI answers shows what that view should include. If you run prompts in the thousands, read the guide to tools for large-scale prompt monitoring first.

What about small teams? A small business with a handful of prompts and no compliance needs should start from the free option that exists. Profound has a seven-day trial. No AirOps trial was found in the sources read. Small teams should therefore ask AirOps about a trial before assuming one exists, and should expect to talk to sales at both companies.

So which one is better? Neither, in general. For a team whose job is measurement, Profound. For a team whose job is production, AirOps. The question is which job you have, and you already know the answer.

Switching From One Tool To The Other

Replacement works in one direction only for a team whose need is narrow. A measurement tool and a content tool do different jobs, so swapping one for the other leaves a job undone. If your need is only measurement, Profound can stand alone. If your need is only production, AirOps can. If you have both jobs, you are adding a tool, not switching.

Before you leave either tool, record what you cannot rebuild quickly. This is advice, not a documented feature of either product, apart from the export that Profound's Enterprise plan lists.

  1. Export the prompt list. Save every tracked prompt with the engine and region it ran on. You have it when you can paste it into a spreadsheet.
  2. Record the tracked competitors. Write down every brand in the competitor set, with the exact name variants used. You have it when a colleague could rebuild the set from the note.
  3. Save the reports you rely on. Profound's Enterprise plan lists CSV and JSON export, so use it if you are on that plan. On any other plan, take screenshots of the views you act on.
  4. Capture a baseline. Note your current visibility numbers for a fixed week. You can then compare the new tool against the old one on the same period.
  5. Run both tools side by side for one cycle. Compare the new tool's output against the baseline before you cancel. A gap you cannot explain is a reason to stay.
  6. Cancel only after the new tool matches the old one on your prompts. Check the contract end date first.

How To Test Both Tools Before You Pay

No independent benchmark of AirOps against Profound was found, so the only evidence you can trust is a test you run yourself. Results differ by prompt wording and by engine, which is why a fixed prompt set matters. The steps below take about a week.

  1. Write one fixed prompt set. Pick 30 to 50 prompts your buyers would ask, and keep it under Profound's trial limit of 50 unique prompts a day. Pass if the same list runs in both tools without edits.
  2. Run the set in each tool. Use the same engines wherever both cover them. Pass if each tool returns results for every prompt.
  3. Compare the engines returned. List which engines each tool actually queried for your plan. Pass if the engines match the list the vendor gave you in writing.
  4. Check the cited sources. Look at which pages each tool says the engines cited. Pass if the tool shows the exact URL cited, not only the domain. Our guide to URL-level citation attribution explains why that distinction matters.
  5. Spot-check brand mentions. Run five prompts by hand in the engine itself and compare. Pass if the tool's mention counts match what you saw. The guide to brand mention tracking tools includes a reliability test you can reuse.
  6. Record the quote. Ask both vendors for a price against the same prompt count, engine list and number of brands. Pass if both quotes arrive in writing with the billing basis stated.

If you want a baseline before you start, our free AI Visibility Report gives you one without a call.

FAQs

Is AirOps Better Than Profound?
Neither is better in general. Profound suits teams whose main job is measuring AI visibility, and AirOps suits teams whose main job is producing content at volume. The choice follows your first job, then the engines, prompts and compliance items each plan covers. See the section on which buyer should pick which tool.
Does Profound Offer A Free Trial, And What Does It Include?
Yes. Profound's pricing page lists a free seven-day trial that runs 50 unique prompts daily across ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, for one language and one region. The trial includes no support. No AirOps trial was found in the sources read, so ask AirOps directly.
Is Profound Or AirOps Better For Small Businesses?
It depends on the small business's first job. A team with a few prompts and a content backlog may start with AirOps, while a team that only wants to see where it appears may start with Profound's trial. Neither vendor publishes a paid price, so ask both for a quote at your volume.
How Often Do AirOps And Profound Refresh Their AI Visibility Data?
Neither vendor states a refresh rate in the sources read. AirOps' pricing page is silent on it, and Profound describes only its Context Manager as real-time. Figures quoted in third-party reviews are not confirmed by the vendors, so ask each for the interval on the plan you would buy.
Are There Independent Benchmarks Comparing AirOps And Profound?
No independent benchmark of the two was found. The comparisons that rank for this keyword include pages written by the vendors themselves, and the one independent reviewer read leans toward Profound. The practical answer is to run your own prompt set through both, as the testing section above describes.
Can Profound Replace AirOps For Content Creation?
No. Profound documents monitoring modules and lists no content task allowance, while AirOps documents content capacity of 35,000 tasks on Solo and 100,000 on Pro. Profound tells you what to fix. Something else has to write and update the pages, so a team with a content backlog still needs a production layer.
Do AirOps And Profound Publish Their Prices?
No paid prices are published by either vendor. AirOps' pricing page shows plan allowances with no dollar figure, and Profound lists a free trial and custom Enterprise pricing. Third-party dollar figures disagree with each other, so request a quote from each vendor against the same prompt count, engines and brands.
Does Profound Hold SOC 2 Certification?
Profound's pricing page lists SOC 2 and SSO/SAML on its Enterprise plan, alongside API access and CSV and JSON export. If your security team needs the report itself, request it during the Enterprise conversation. The free trial lists none of these items, so do not assume them there.
Do I Need Both Tools?
Only if you have both jobs and a budget for each. A measurement tool tells you where you appear, and a content tool produces the pages that change it. Decide which job blocks you first, trial that tool, and add the second once the first has a backlog that justifies it.
What Should A Team Check Before Choosing Between Them?
Check five things in writing from each vendor. Get the engine list for your plan, the prompt or task allowance at your volume, the trial terms, the security documents your buyers require, and the data refresh rate. Then run the same prompt set through both tools and compare a quote for equal volume.

If you have narrowed this to one tool and want a second opinion before you buy, book a free thirty-minute call. One of the founders takes it, and you leave knowing which setup we would test first.

Written by

Faisal Irfan
Faisal IrfanCo-Founder & Head of SEO

Leads data-driven SEO strategies, focused on search intent and AI-driven optimization.